Alaska Fake ID Laws
We have accumulated some of the laws regarding the possession
and use of fake IDs in Alaska. This text was grabbed in 2010 straight from the Alaska government's webpage at
http://www.state.ak.us/dmv/akol/frauduse.htm. Check that webpage for the latest
Violations - Fraudulent Use Law
Effective July 1, 1994, the "FRAUDULENT USE"
law took a strong stand against using false identification to obtain alcohol. It is also against this law to use
false identification to get into a licensed premises where alcohol is sold.
This means you can be cited if you are under 21 and use fake
identification to buy alcohol or use the fake identification to get into a bar or club.
If you break this law:
- You face criminal prosecution and administrative license
- A citation will be issued and you will have to go to
- The DMV must revoke your driver's license, learner's permit, or privilege to get a
The revocation periods for using fake ID
- 60 days for the first revocation
- 1 year for the second or subsequent revocation
Following are commonly asked questions and answers about the Under 21
If I am given a notice of revocation, what
The Division of Motor Vehicles must revoke your privilege to
How do I get my license back?
What steps you must take to get your privilege to drive back
depends on how many times you have broken the law.
Does my parent or legal guardian need to sign for me to
get my license back if I am under 18 years of age?
Do I have to be convicted in a court of law for the license
revocation to occur?
No. The revocation is an administrative action. The revocation
goes into effect on the 8th day after the notice of revocation notice is issued by an officer. The revocation is in
addition to any action taken by the court system.
Will these laws effect me if I do not have a driver's
Yes. These laws take away your privilege to drive. It means you
lose your license or permit if you have one. It means you cannot apply to get a license or permit if you don't have
one. It also means you cannot drive using a license from another state. You cannot get your privilege to drive back
until the end of your revocation period.
Can the revocation be
Yes. You have the right to ask for an administrative
hearing to contest the revocation of your privilege to drive. If you
have a license or permit and you make your request within seven days, a temporary license will be issued for you to
use until the date of the hearing.
Can I drive if my parents are in the car with
No. You may not drive in Alaska under any circumstances,
including using a driver's license from another state. You cannot drive until you satisfy all requirements and get
a new license.
Is there anything I can do to reduce the amount of time
of the revocation?